Skip to main content
Community Foundation of Northern Nevada Logo

Community Foundation Adds New Advisory Board Members in 2020

The Community Foundation added six new Advisory Board members this summer and it is my pleasure to introduce them to you.

Vic Bucher, CPA brings his expertise to the Finance Committee. He has been teaching and facilitating accounting related courses for 40 years. Raised on an almond and orange orchards farm in Oroville, California, he founded a CPA firm in Yolo County in 1976 specializing in farm and commodity accounting, forensic accounting, and US income and estate taxes. He now has a public accounting practice exclusively for estates and trusts in Reno.  Vic is a member of the AICPA, the California Society of Certified Public Accountants, and the Association of Certified Fraud Examiners. He is the treasurer of the Rotary Club of Reno, and the Reno Rotary Foundation. Vic is generous with more than his time and treasure; He is a 27-gallon blood donor with the Sacramento Blood Source Foundation.
Cindy Carano
serves on the Community Engagement Committee and is the Chair of the 2020-2022 Community Foundation Women’s Giving Circle. She is the Executive Director of the Eldorado Resorts Reno Community Relations department. Cindy enjoys spearheading the Eldorado’s commitments to the betterment of Reno’s education programs, the growth of arts and culture, and the corporation’s civic giving. Cindy is the immediate Past Chair of the Downtown Reno Partnership 2018- present.  
Allison Gorelick
serves on the Development Committee and the Community Housing Land Trust Advisory Group. Allison Gorelick was instrumental in bringing the idea of moving a vacant mining camp in Wyoming to downtown Reno and transforming it into the award-winning Village on Sage Street. Her drive, creative energy, and generous example motivated a year of intense collaboration and work to open its 216 doors to low-income residents. Allison has 25 years of development and financial leadership experience.  For the past ten years, she has acquired, renovated, and managed over 300 units in Reno, and is a licensed real estate broker in both California and Nevada and is on the Board of Keep Tahoe Blue. Dan Lofrese joined the Investment Committee and is a member of the Community Foundation’s Professional Advisor Council. Dan succeeded Community Foundation founder Jim Webster at Gabelli Asset Management Company (GAMCO), a diversified global financial services company with assets under management of $27.5 billion.  He is a Rotarian, an Advisory Board Member for the College of Liberal Arts at UNR & UNLV, a TMCC Foundation Board Member, and is on the Board of Directors for The National Security Forum of Northern Nevada. Joel Muller is a financial advisor for Edward Jones in Reno specializing in retirement planning, portfolio strategies, investments, and estate considerations. He is a member of the Community Foundation Professional Advisor Council and the Advisory Board, serving on the Investment Committee. Joel brings his charitable gift planning expertise, passion for philanthropy, and a wealth of charitable fundraising experience to the Board. From 2006 to 2017 he worked for Renown Health Systems, most recently as the CEO of the Renown Health Foundation. Joel is a member of the Planned Giving Roundtable of Northern Nevada, Rotary, and several nonprofit boards. He has received the William H. Williams Lifetime Achievement Award and was recognized as Outstanding Fundraiser of the Year by the Association of Fundraising Professionals Northern Nevada. Edwin Pereyra, CPA serves on the Finance Committee, the Task Force on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) and is a member of the Community Foundation Professional Advisors Council. With more than 25 years of experience, his tax and accounting firm specializes in servicing small businesses and individuals including those with complex business situations. Edwin is a 1996 graduate of the Leadership Reno-Sparks program of the Greater Reno-Sparks Chamber of Commerce. His past and current affiliations include UNR College of Business Administration Alumni Association, Truckee Meadows Tomorrow, Institute of Management Accountants, and the Association for Financial Professionals of Northern Nevada where he also served as President. The skill, experience, and passion for philanthropy these board members bring to their committees and to the entire Board will help guide the Community Foundation through the coming years. This year, past Advisory Board members, Andrew Harris, Beau Keenan, DJ Lee, Jason Morris, and Bonnie Read have been voted into the Trustees as Thomas Hall, Nora James and Teresa Mentzer have served to the limits of their terms. The three departing Trustees have the respect and gratitude of all the Board and Staff at the Community Foundation for their contributions and their leadership, as they steered the Community Foundation’s course for more than a decade. Visit the Community Board page