Skip to main content
Community Foundation of Northern Nevada Logo

Community Foundation of Elko County Recognizes Philanthropic Activity at Annual Meeting

Community Foundation of Elko County held its 3rd annual meeting On February 7, 2019, to thank community members and celebrate the Community Foundation of Elko County successes.

Gifts to the Endowment fund to benefit Elko County have totaled more than $100,000 since 2015.

  In 2018, the Community Foundation of Elko County (CFEC) awarded grants to Communities in Schools for their Peer Mentoring Program and the Committee Against Domestic Violence for the domestic violence shelter.  In addition, the CFEC worked in Partnership with the Elko Host Lions Club to establish the Camp Lamoille Recovery Fund, so people can make tax-deductible gifts to help rebuild Camp Lamoille.  “The Community Foundation of Elko County is like a community savings account”, stated incoming Chair Teri Gage, “the funds are permanently invested in an endowment and the annual earnings are used to provide grants that address our community’s needs”. The CFEC discussed the creation of the Builders’ Club, a group of businesses and individuals who have committed to supporting the Community Foundation of Elko County Endowment Fund. The Builders’ Club is separate from the Community Foundation of Elko County Legacy Society who have made planned gifts that will be realized in the future; the contributions from the Community Builder’s Club will provide immediate support for grantable dollars. Membership into the Builders’ Club requires a $10,000 minimum gift in a one-year period for businesses, a $5,000 minimum gift for families over the course membership drive.  The membership drive ends December 10, 2025.  The Builders’ Club welcomed Barrick and Kinross Bald Mountain and two families, Kevin and Ann Marie Melcher and Kurt and Katie Neddenriep in 2018. Outgoing Chairman Ben Reed was honored with a plaque thanking him for his years of service and leadership to the Foundation. Community Foundation of Elko County Board members are Teri Gage, Chairman, Kerry Aguirre, Vice Chairman, Katie Neddenriep, Jim Conner, Lauren Landa , and Alissa Wood.  The CFEC Board expressed their appreciation to the Community Foundation of Western Nevada, including Lyndsey Crossley, Chris Askin and former staff member, Tracy Turner, for their assistance and support in developing the community foundation model in Elko County.  Print N Copy, Ogi Deli and the Western Folklife Center were recognized for sponsoring the annual meeting. For more information on the Builders Club and the Community Foundation of Elko County, contact Terri Gage at