Skip to main content
Community Foundation of Northern Nevada Logo
Christine Fey

Fey, Christine

Advisory Board - New Member 2021

Christine Fey has a Bachelor's Degree in Anthropology and Masters Degree in Land Use Planning, with a field of specialization in Historic Preservation and Cultural Resource Management. During her 28 years with the City of Reno, Christine was a City Planner, Historic Preservation Officer, Arts and Culture Manager, Resource Development and Cultural Affairs Manager, and Resource Development Manager.  

Christine’s expertise includes development planning and review, historic preservation, arts administration, public art administration and strategic planning. Christine has authored numerous publications is the recipient of awards including the Historic Preservation Award for Distinguished Service, the Shakespeare Award for Sustained Excellence in Support of the Arts, and the Governor’s Arts Award for Service to the Arts. She secured over $1 million in grants to rehabilitate the McKinley Park School, which was reopened in 2000 for use as Reno’s first Community Cultural Center, in addition to grants for the rehabilitation of the California Building and for the Southside Center’s elevator. 

Christine staffed the Arts and Culture Commission during its first 25 years, during which time the Commission created Artown; the 2 Percent for Art Program; and the Public Art Collection, which she oversaw from inception in 1992 until it numbered over 185 pieces in the outdoor collection and 65 pieces in the interior collection. She managed four changing Galleries in City Facilities and the Arts and Culture Grants and Sponsorship Programs which awarded over $400,000 annually. Christine has served as a Judge for numerous arts organization galleries and festivals. 

Christine retired in 2017 from the City after 28 years of service and now consults for arts organizations and serves on the PBS Reno Board of Trustees, the Pioneer Center for the Performing Board, and the Community Foundation of Northern Nevada's Advisory Board, serving on its Be Instrumental Fund Allocations Committee.